Special Report

Sports Franchises with the Most Consecutive Winning Seasons

Source: Allsport / Getty Images

15. Oakland Raiders
> Consecutive winning seasons: 16 seasons
> Seasons: 1965 to 1980
> Championships: 2 Super Bowls
> Notable players: Ken Stabler, Gene Upshaw

Legendary Raiders owner Al Davis was famed for his simple philosophy, “Just win, baby!” And during his early years as Raiders owner, that’s exactly what they did. After stepping down as coach after an 8-5-1 1965 season, he assumed control of the team and guided Oakland to 11 postseason appearances in the next 15 seasons. Coaches John Madden and Tom Flores each led the Raiders to a Super Bowl in that time. Even as coaches and quarterbacks changed, the Raiders kept winning.

Source: Otto Greule Jr / Getty Images

14. San Francisco 49ers
> Consecutive winning seasons: 16 seasons
> Seasons: 1983 to 1998
> Championships: 4 Super Bowls
> Notable players: Joe Montana, Ronnie Lott

The San Francisco 49ers won their first Super Bowl after the 1981 season but struggled in the shortened 1982 season (due to strike), going 3-6. The championship team, led by safety Ronnie Lott, QB Joe Montana, and head coach Bill Walsh, were primed and ready for more success. The Niners won at least 10 games in each of the next 16 seasons, winning four more Super Bowls. Even after Walsh, Montana, and Lott left, the team kept winning as former defensive coordinator George Seifert took over as head coach and Steve Young admirably replaced Montana.

Source: Mike Powell / Getty Images

13. Los Angeles Lakers
> Consecutive winning seasons: 16 seasons
> Seasons: 1976-1977 to 1991-1992
> Championships: 5 NBA titles
> Notable players: Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

The Los Angeles Lakers are one of the most dominant franchises in American pro sports history. Arguably, their greatest stretch was from the mid-70s to early 1990s. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar teamed up with Magic Johnson to create the Showtime Lakers — one of the most exciting and successful sports franchises in sports history. The Lakers won five championships and played in nine finals during the Showtime era, never missing the playoffs from 1977 to 1993.

Source: Hulton Archive / Getty Images

12. Chicago White Sox
> Consecutive winning seasons: 17 seasons
> Seasons: 1951 to 1967
> Championships: None
> Notable players: Minnie Minoso, Billy Pierce

Much like the Red Sox, the Chicago White Sox had a string of winning seasons in the mid-20th century but could never win a championship. The South Siders were consistently over .500 in the 1950s and 1960s, but they only made one World Series, losing to the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1959. Chicago fans thought they were cursed by the Black Sox Scandal, in which players from the 1919 White Sox were allegedly paid to throw the World Series.

Source: Rick Stewart / Getty Images

11. Baltimore Orioles
> Consecutive winning seasons: 18 seasons
> Seasons: 1968 to 1985
> Championships: 2 World Series
> Notable players: Frank Robinson, Jim Palmer

From 1968 to 1985, the Baltimore Orioles made five World Series appearances, winning two of them. Earl Weaver was the manager for most of that period — he was the manager for seven of the 14 playoff appearances the franchise has made in its 119-season history. The team was full of legendary Hall of Fame ball players like Brooks Robinson, Cal Ripken Jr., Jim Palmer, Eddie Murray, and Frank Robinson.

Sponsored: Find a Qualified Financial Advisor

Finding a qualified financial advisor doesn’t have to be hard. SmartAsset’s free tool matches you with up to 3 fiduciary financial advisors in your area in 5 minutes. Each advisor has been vetted by SmartAsset and is held to a fiduciary standard to act in your best interests. If you’re ready to be matched with local advisors that can help you achieve your financial goals, get started now.