Special Report

The Story Behind Your State's Quarter

The United States Mint, one of the nation’s oldest agencies, began a 10-year initiative starting in 1999 to honor each U.S. state by pressing a quarter that acknowledged a state’s singular identity. Twenty years after the Mint began this undertaking, 24/7 Tempo is taking a look at each state’s unique character depicted on the coin. We compiled our list from information and data supplied by the website of the United States Mint.

Click here to read about the story behind your state’s quarter.

The coins were minted in the order in which they ratified the Constitution or were admitted to the Union. The inaugural class consisted of quarters from the first five states — Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, and Connecticut. Many of the nation’s oldest towns can be found in these states. Here is the oldest town in every state.

Quarters from five states were pressed over the next nine years ending in 2008. Each coin offers insight into how the state came to be. Here is how each state got its name.

Each state-themed quarter was produced for about 10 weeks and will not be pressed again. State designs are displayed on the reverse, or tails, side of the quarters. The obverse, or heads, side of the coin, shows the image of George Washington. To accommodate state designs on the reverse side of the quarter, the Mint moved the words “United States of America,” “Quarter Dollar,” “Liberty,” and “In God We Trust” to the obverse side of the coin.