America's 5 Youngest Presidents

Courtesy of Australian Politics and the White House, America’s five youngest presidents ever to take office and comments from their official biographies. Also, the year each was elected.

Barack Obama
> Elected: 2008
> Age: 47

Fifth youngest president ever elected. He was elected the 44th President of the United States on November 4, 2008, and sworn in on January 20, 2009.

Ulysses S. Grant
> Elected: 1868
> Age: 46

Fourth youngest president ever elected, five months older than Clinton. In 1865, as commanding general, Ulysses S. Grant led the Union Armies to victory over the Confederacy in the American Civil War. As an American hero, Grant was later elected the 18th President of the United States (1869–1877), working to implement Congressional Reconstruction and to remove the vestiges of slavery.

Bill Clinton
> Elected: 1992
> Age: 46

Third youngest president ever elected. He was the first Democratic president since Franklin D. Roosevelt to win a second term.

John F. Kennedy
> Elected: 1960
> Age: 43

Second youngest president ever; youngest president ever elected. Kennedy was also the youngest to die in office.

Theodore Roosevelt
> Became president: 1901
> Age: 42

With the assassination of President McKinley, Roosevelt, not quite 43, became the youngest president in the nation’s history. Also, the second youngest president ever elected, in 1904 at age 46, one month younger than Clinton.